New Hampshire State Fireworks Laws


Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks designated as “Permissible Fireworks”
which have been approved by the AFSL or other 3rd party
testing agency including aerial devices, cakes, roman candles,
ground spinner, party popper, snake/glow worm snapper,
wheels and sparklers.
Restrictions Must be at least 21 years of age to purchase & possess fireworks.
Must be used on your own property, or with written permission of
the landowner. Must comply with all local ordinances.
Sellers must have an ATF, local & NH State license to sell
“permissible” consumer fireworks. State permissible fireworks
sales license fee is $1,500 annually.
“Permissible” consumer fireworks may only be sold from a
permanent structure that meets the requirements of the State
Fire and Building Codes.
Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, stick rockets/missiles, and any device that
Produces solely smoke.

Display Permit

State permit required, must be submitted to local authorities for
Approval at least 15 days prior to the date of display and 3
business days prior to the date of display to the Dept. of Safety.

Insurance $1,000,000 liability required.
Operator Certificate of Competency required. Written examination required. Minimum age – 21 years. $100 license fee

State license for sale of fireworks required. $1,500 annual fee.
Minimum age 21 years. Must have ATF permit plus local permit.

Proximate/Special Effects Must comply with building and fire codes adopted
by the governing body. If no code has been
adopted, then storage shall be in accordance with
the fire code adopted by the director of the division
of fire prevention and control within the dept. of
public safety.
Permit Required. All pyrotechnic, flame/fire, or other forms of special
Effects are required to have a permit issued by the State Fire
Marshal. Permit fee: $250 to $400
LICENSING Certificate of Competency required. Written examination required.
Minimum age 21 years. Fees: Pyrotechnic Operator $100, Flame
Effect Operator $100, Special Effects Operator $100


New Hampshire Dept. of Safety
Division of Fire Safety – Office of the State Fire Marshal
Special Operations – Fireworks Enforcement & Safety Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
(603) 223-4289


N.H. Code of Admin Rules
Saf-C 5000 – Display Fireworks
Saf-C 2600 – Consumer fireworks, sales, distribution
Saf-C 6900 – Proximate Audience, Pyrotechnic Flame & FX
RSA 160-B Fireworks
RSA 160-C Permissible Fireworks

Product has been added to the cart